Home » blogging » triple word sentence

triple word sentence

For several years now, some friends of mine and I have been searching for words that, when repeated three times, make a complete and grammatically correct sentence. So far, we have the following examples:

  • Police police police.
  • Buffalo buffalo buffalo.

Please note that versions with slightly different conjugations (e.g., Geese goose geese.) are inferior and don’t count in this game.

Anyone out there have one (or more)?

8 Comments

  1. Dr. Skippy says:

    Here’s one that not quite a strong as your examples: Bit bit bit. As in “When you drilled from that side and I drilled from this, we knew we were through when bit bit bit.

  2. jd2718 says:

    Bye bye bye (we found a 32nd participant for our single elimination tournament), but the repeta-word seems kind of cheaty.

  3. halshop says:

    Jd and Skippy — nice try, but definitely not quite up to the standard. I know you both can do better.

  4. jl says:

    Post post post.

  5. jl says:

    hm. come to think of it: press press press.

  6. halshop says:

    Jl–Major congrats on the “Press press press”! I’ve got images of a crowded room full of reporters and others. Well done.

    Unfortunately, I think the first only works if there’s someone named “Post”.

    Thanks!

  7. jl says:

    and content content content. I’m sorry, I can’t stop. I wish I could because I have work to do.

  8. jl says:

    Converse Converse converse.

Leave a Reply

